top of page

Gloria Marie Jeannette Brownrigg


Passed away March 17th, 2017 at the Queensway Carleton in her 78th year. Gloria joins her husband, Cyril Brownrigg, and daughter Deborah Brownrigg (Brian MacDonald) whom she loved dearly. Predeceased by her parents Emilien LeBlanc and Regina (Alain) LeBlanc. She is survived by her daughters Nancy (Jeff) Gibson and Karen Brownrigg and step grandson Angus. Lovingly remembered by her siblings; Elaine Soublière, Annette (Warner) Landry, Louise (Guy) Larabie, Ray (the late Marlene) LeBlanc, and Bernie (Linda) LeBlanc. Gloria will be missed by her nieces Pamela (René), Nadine, Catherine, Susan (Kevin), Lisa, Joelle and Melanie (Adrian) and her nephews Marc (Meaghan), Donald (Cecilia) and Michael (Alexandra). Gloria’s sense of humour and beautiful smile made her well-liked by the staff and residents of Forest Hill (OMNI) Health Care Residence in Kanata. Thank you to those who loved and cared for her needs – she really loved her room and time at Forest Hill. A Special thank you to the caring staff of the Queensway Carleton Hospital’s ACE unit, her physician Dr. Bustani and the entire palliative care team, for their professionalism, kindness and support through this difficult time. Family and friends are invited to a celebration of Gloria’s life Friday March 24th at 11:30AM at First Memorial Funeral Services, 259 St. Patrick St. Ottawa, ON with a reception to follow. Interment will occur at a later date at Beechwood Cemetery, resting place of her loving husband Cyril. Donations in memory of Gloria may be made to Forest Hill for the purpose of staff training and active social and recreation programs.


WHEN I'M GONE

When I come to the end of my journey

And I travel my last weary mile

Just forget if you can, that I ever frowned

And remember only my genuine smile

Forget unkind words I have spoken

Remember some good I have done

Forget that I ever had heartache

And remember I have had lots of fun

Forget that I've stumbled and blundered and sometimes fell by the way

Remember I have fought some hard battles

And won , ere the close of the day

Then forget to grieve for my going

I would not have you sad for a day

But in the summer just gather some flowers

And remember the place that I lay

And come in the shade of the evening when the sun paints the sky in the West

Stand for a few moments beside me

And remember only my best


Latest Obituaries
Archive
bottom of page